Bio

I was born outside of Fort Worth, Texas, but spent most of my adolescence in Baton Rouge, Louisiana and Jackson, Mississippi. I earned a bachelor’s degree in 2009 from the University of Southern Mississippi in English literature and French with a concentration in creative writing and a minor in marketing. As an undergraduate I was highly involved in The Southerner yearbook, Student Government Association, and the Inter-Residence Hall Council, among other academic and volunteer student organizations. Immediately following my graduation, I worked full-time at Florida State University (FSU) as the Assistant Coordinator of Information and Public Relations at the Center for Leadership and Civic Education (now the Center for Leadership and Social Change). I developed an interest in student affairs and higher education administration through my professional work. I also reflected deeply on my interactions with students majoring in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields as both a peer and professional.

In 2010, I enrolled in FSU’s higher education master’s program. From 2011 to 2014/15, I worked as the Program Coordinator of the FSU Women in Math, Science, and Engineering (WIMSE) Living-Learning Community and assisted the Undergraduate Affairs Committee for the FSU Department of Physics. Working with students in both of these roles greatly deepened my understanding of college experiences in STEM and commitment to research on this student population. I enrolled in FSU’s higher education doctoral program in 2013. I furthered my research skills through funded and volunteer research experiences in the doctoral program. In 2016, my efforts were rewarded through the receipt of a National Academy of Education / Spencer Dissertation Fellowship and P.E.O. Scholar Award, which has funded my dissertation research.

As a mixed-race, first-generation student from the deep south, I am particularly interested in researching intersectional identities, regional experiences, and ability beliefs within and beyond the STEM fields. I live in Tallahassee, FL with my husband (Chris), my son (Cassian), and my dog (Eevee).

family photo
Chris, Cass, and me at Grayton Beach, FL.